Restricting Access to Folders

Access Control for Folders

Access Control is the means by which users can grant or restrict access to objects in fileplan. When permission is assigned to a folder, those permissions apply to all documents in that folder. Users who have been granted Full Control permissions to a Library by a fileplan administrator have the ability to control access to particular folders in that Library for all users. It is also possible for administrators to grant Full Control permissions to a user for one or more specified folders in a Library. In this case, the user will be able to assign permission for these folders only.

 

Note that whenever access is assigned these permissions will cascade down to all other folders beneath that folder and all documents in those folders.

 

Restricting Access to a Folder

To assign access control, select a folder within fileplan and click on the arrow to bring up the list of folder operations. If you have been granted the appropriate permission by an administrator you will be able to choose the option Access Control.

 

 

In the dialog that appears, access to folders and their documents can be set for individual users and also on a team level, applying to every member of the team. If a user is given different levels of access both individually and through Team membership, the highest level of access granted is used. If a user is not granted access either individually or as part of any Team, fileplan treats that user as having no access.

Set Access Control 

  1. To add a Team's access to a Library, enter the name of the Team at (1) and click Add Team.

    Once the Team has been added, assign it the desired Access Control setting. Hover over the question mark icon for each role to see a full description of the associated permissions. Learn more about Access Control Roles in the fileplan Help Centre article What is Access Control?  

    To remove access for a Team, click the corresponding button Delete.
  2. You can do the same for People, by entering the name of the Person at (2). 
  3. Click Save to commit your changes. 

 

Permissions

Specific details about the impact of each role on operations in fileplan are presented in the following table. When in fileplan, hover over the question mark icon for each role to see these permissions.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

take the tour