Adding, deleting and renaming Folders

Adding, deleting and renaming Folders

Folders Explained

Folders in fileplan, work much the same way as Windows folders. Folders can be added, modified and deleted by users with sufficient access to the Library.

 

Adding New Folders

Folders can be added under an existing folder by clicking the parent folder and choosing the option New Folder from the \/ menu. Enter the name of the folder and hit Enter.

 

 

 

Renaming a Folder

Folders can be renamed by clicking the folder then choosing Rename from the menu. Folder names at the same level cannot have duplicate names, just like Windows.

 

Deleting a Folder

Folders can be deleted by clicking the folder then choosing Delete Folder from the menu. Folders cannot be deleted if they contain documents. In this case, move the files to another folder, or delete the documents before deleting the folder.

 

    • Related Articles

    • Favouriting Folders and Documents

      Both Folders and documents can be favourited, allowing users convenient access to documents that are regularly used. These documents are typically kept as Favourites for an extended period. For short term marking of documents, consider flagging them ...
    • Adding and Deleting a List item

      Adding a List Item Any user that has been given permission can add new List Items to a List. There are two ways to do this. Select the List on the Lists page and then click the button Add List Item. Type the values for the code and the description ...
    • Restricting Access to Folders

      Access Control for Folders Access Control is the means by which users can grant or restrict access to objects in fileplan. When permission is assigned to a folder, those permissions apply to all documents in that folder. Users who have been granted ...
    • Saving from Windows folders

      Saving from Windows folders Files that already exist in Windows can be added to Libraries in fileplan directly from Windows Explorer. To begin this process, right-click on the files in Windows Explorer and select the option  Send to > SendTo ...
    • Deleting Documents

      Deleting Documents Documents can be deleted by any user with permission to do so for the particular folder. To Delete any number of documents, ensure that the check boxes for the documents are ticked (1), select the Actions pane (2) and finally the ...